Thailand in Africa 2021

Cricket Thailand has just announced an upcoming tour of both Zimbabwe and South Africa commencing in August and September 2021. It will the first time that new skipper Naruemol Chaiwai leads the team.

The tour to both countries will see Thailand playing both 50 over and 20 over formats. The matches against South Africa will be against their Emerging Players team.

The tour commences in Zimbabwe on 18th August where we will see four 50 over matches and three T20 Internationals all played at Harare. These two teams are 11th and 12th in the ICC rankings, which is sure to provide some wonderful cricket.

The Thailand team then head to South Africa for five 50 over games and three T20s all played at Potchefstroom from 5th September.

“It’s going to be our first tour to Africa and also our first after the World Cup, so it’s going to be interesting to see how we fare in a new continent and adapt to foreign conditions.”  – Shan Kader, Development Manager CAT

The Squad:

Naruemol Chaiwai (captain), Nannapat Khoncharoenkrai (vice-captain), Nattaya Boochatham, Ratanaporn Padunglerd, Chanida Sutthiruang, Natthakan Chantham, Suleeporn Laomi, Sornnarin Tippoch, Rosenanee Kanoh, Wongpaka Liengprasert, Phannita Maya, Onnicha Kampchomphu, Thipatcha Putthawong, Aphisara Suwanchonrathi, Sunida Chaturongrattana.

“Everyone in the squad is quite excited and looks really good in training so let’s see how it translates on this tour.”

Fixtures:

Wednesday 18 August 2021 – 1st One-day vs Zimbabwe

Friday 20 August 2021 – 2nd One-day vs Zimbabwe

Sunday 22 August 2021 – 3rd One-day vs Zimbabwe

Tuesday 24 August 2021 – 4th One-day vs Zimbabwe

Friday 27 August 2021 – 1st T20I vs Zimbabwe

Sunday 29 August 2021 – 2nd T20I vs Zimbabwe

Monday 30 August 2021 – 3rd T20I vs Zimbabwe

Sunday 5 September 2021 – 1st One-day vs South Africa Emerging

Tuesday 7 September 2021 – 2nd One-day vs South Africa Emerging

Thursday 9 September 2021 – 3rd One-day vs South Africa Emerging

Saturday 11 September 2021 – 4th One-day vs South Africa Emerging

Monday 13 September 2021 – 5th One-day vs South Africa Emerging

Thursday 16 September 2021 – 1st T20I vs South Africa Emerging

Friday 17 September 2021 – 2nd T20I vs South Africa Emerging

Sunday 19 September 2021 – 3rd T20I vs South Africa Emerging

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.