Preview: Canada

Americas World Cup Qualifiers

ICC Ranking: n/a
Captain: Kamna Mirchandani

Canada is the great unknown for this tournament. They have only played three T20 Internationals since gaining ICC status in July 2018, all against the USA and all resulting in losses.

Those matches were played in May 2019 and much has changed since then. Captain back then was former Pakistan international, Mahewish Khan. New skipper, Kamna Mirchandani, is Canada’s leading run scorer.

Other players with T20I experience include Saniyah Zia, Canada’s leading wicket taker, Achini Perera a medium pace bowler, Hiba Shamshad, a left-arm medium pacer. One to keep an eye on is Miryam Khokhar, MVP of the recent domestic tournament.

The full squad of fourteen:

Kamna Mirchandani (Captain), Divya Saxena (Vice Captain), Hala Azmat, Mukhwinder Gill, Kate Gray, Mahrukh Imtiaz, Krima Kapadia, Miryam Khokhar, Jasmina Oldham, Achini Perera, Hiba Shamshad, Sonali Vig, Sana Zafar, Saniyah Zia.

We wish them all the very best. Their first match is against Argentina. Matches will be covered on ICC TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *