World Cup Final 1993

On August 1st 1993, England and New Zealand played the World Cup final at the famous Lord’s Cricket Ground in London in front of a crowd of 4,500 spectators.

There was no preceding semi final. England finished atop the table after the round robin matches while New Zealand finished second. Australia (3rd) and India (4th) would not be playing finals cricket in this tournament.

Embed from Getty Images

Karen Smithies won the toss for England and chose to bat and it was Jan Brittin (48) and Carole Hodges (45), the latter stumped by Kiwi skipper Sarah Illingworth, as England posted a total of 195/5 from their 60 overs. Sarah McLauchlan the best of the bowlers with 2-25.

After a solid start, Penny Kinsella was first out for 15, Kirsty Bond for 12 and Debbie Hockley for 24. Maia Lewis top scored with 28 but it fell away after that. A little resistance from Karen Gunn (19) but the White Ferns fell well short, all out 128 in 55.1 overs.

Player of the Match was Jo Chamberlain with 1-28 from 9 overs to go with her 38 runs scored. The victory gave England their second World Cup title.


England 195/5 (Jan Brittin 48, Carole Hodges 45, Jo Chamberlain 38, Sarah McLauchlan 2-25) 60 overs
New Zealand 128 (Maia Lewis 28, Gillian Smith 3-29, Suzie Kitson 2-11, Clare Taylor 2-27, Jo Chamberlain 1-28) 55.1 overs

Player of the Match: Jo Chamberlain

Embed from Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.