ODI World Cup 2009

On 22nd March 2009 at North Sydney Oval, England defeated New Zealand to claim the ODI World Cup. It would be their third World Cup win.

Both teams were undefeated in the group stage and in the Super Sixes, both lost a game – New Zealand lost to England, while Australia ended a 17 game winning streak when they defeated England. At the end of the Super Sixes the top two teams would play the final.

A crowd of 2,300 saw Haidee Tiffen win the toss for the White Ferns and despite the conditions being conducive to seam and swing, decided that runs on the board in a final is the best recipe for success and chose to bat.

After a nervous start from both teams, Isa Guha broke through to remove Kate Pulford. Then it became the Shaw show, as Nicki Shaw cut like a scythe through the New Zealand innings, removing Suzie Bates, Any Satterthwaite and then the captain.

A rear guard fightback by Nicola Browne (25) and Lucy Doolan (48) ended with Doolan’s dismissal. The ten and eleven, Rachel Priest and Sophie Devine scored no runs. White Ferns all out 166 in the 48th over. Shaw had taken 4-34.

England cruised to 74 before losing the wicket of Sarah Taylor, caught Tiffen bowled Doolan 39. The Kiwi bowler would also dismiss the other opener Caroline Atkins (40) and Charlotte Edwards (10) in her own devastating spell of 3-23 from 10 overs. But it wouldn’t be enough. Nicki Shaw was 17 not out when England passed the target in the 47th over, earning her the Player of the Match award.

New Zealand 166 (Doolan 48, Tiffin 30, Shaw 4-34) lost to England 167/6 (Atkins 40, SJ Taylor 39, Doolan 3-23)

Embed from Getty Images