Zimbabwe v Thailand 29 Aug 2021

Series: Thailand in Zimbabwe Aug 2021
Venue: Harare Sports Club
Format: T20I
Toss: Thailand
Result: Thailand by 53 runs

Thailand Bounce Back to End Streak

An emphatic 53 run victory by Thailand has kept the series alive and at the same time brought an end to the winning streak of Zimbabwe. In fact this is the first time the home team has lost a T20 International.

Naruemol Chaiwai won the toss for Thailand and elected to bat. What followed was an innings built around a masterclass from Natthakan Chantham, whose 88 not out from 65 deliveries included 2 sixes and 10 fours.

Thailand finished their 20 overs with 154/3, their highest total in their short history, eclipsing the 150/3 against Pakistan at Sydney in March 2020. Useful contributions from Nattaya Boochatham (24) and Chaiwai (20*). Best with the ball was Loreen Tshuma with 2-27.

Zimbabwe lost Ashley Ndiraya (1) in the second over, followed by Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano (5) bowled by Boochatham. It got worse. Skipper Mary-Anne Musonda was trapped in front first ball leaving Boochatham on a hat-trick, averted by Precious Marange.

Modester Mupachikwa (18) was doing it on her own but when she was runout when the score was 48, the gas had well and truly gone out of the innings. Marange (30) and Josephine Nkomo (25) kept the dream alive but the Thai bowlers were doing what they do best: strangle the life out of the run scoring.

When Boochatham removed Nomvelo Sibanda for a duck in the 20th over, Thailand secured victory with Zimbabwe all out for 101. Sadly it meant the winning streak was over for the home team.

Best with the ball for Thailand, Boochatham (4-16), Onnicha Kamchomphu (2-17) and Suleeporn Laomi (2-24). Player of the match, undoubtedly Natthakan Chantham with 88*, her 4th half century.


Thailand 154/3 (Natthakan Chantham 88*, Nattaya Boochatham 24, Naruemol Chaiwai 20*, Loreen Tshuma 2-27) 20 overs
Zimbabwe 101 (Precious Marange 30, Josephine Nkomo 25, Nattaya Boochatham 4-16, Onnicha Kamchomphu 2-17) 19.3 overs

Player of the Match: Natthakan Chantham